The Arnold Classic: The History of the Competition


The Arnold Classic 2016, also known as the Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic, will be held in Columbus, Ohio from the 3rd to 6th March 2016.

This annual professional men's bodybuilding competition being ran by the International Federation of Bodybuilders is one of the largest multi-sport festival with more than 18,000 athletes competing in 45 sports and events, internationally.

It all started in 1989 with the first ever event being staged by both Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jim Lorimer Whilst today’s Arnold Classic takes place over four days, the very first festival only had two contests: The Arnold Classic for men; and the Ms. International for female bodybuilders.

Take a look below at over 25 years of victory!

Arnold Classic Winners:

1989: Rich Gaspari

1990: Mike Ashley

1991: Shawn Ray

1992: Vince Taylor

1993: Flex Wheeler

1994: Kevin Levrone

1995: Michael Francois

1996: Kevin Levrone

1997: Flex Wheeler

1998: Flex Wheeler

1999: Nasser El Sonbaty

2000: Flex Wheeler

2001: Ronnie Coleman

2002: Jay Cutler

2003: Jay Cutler

2004: Jay Cutler

2005: Dexter Jackson

2006: Dexter Jackson

2007: Victor Martinez

2008: Dexter Jackson

2009: Kai Greene

2010: Kai Greene

2011: Branch Warren

2012: Branch Warren

2013: Dexter Jackson

2014: Dennis Wolf

2015: Dexter Jackson